The new law reverses a CBD limit enacted in May 2018 by Michigan’s Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs and the Bureau of Medical Marihuana Regulation, which ruled that even possessing CBD products in the state is illegal without a medical marijuana card.
Michigan’s CBD rule was blamed for driving manufacturers out of state.
The new law takes effect in March and creates a new hemp “processor-handler license.”
Michigan voters decided last November to lift restrictions on growing industrial hemp.
The new law sets hemp fees at:
- $1,350 for an annual license to process hemp.
- $100 for an annual fee to grow hemp.
Michigan estimates it will need about three employees and $500,000 to run its new hemp program.
Subscribe to our Newsletter
MJShareholders.com is the largest dedicated financial network and leading corporate communications firm serving the legal cannabis industry. Our network aims to connect public marijuana companies with these focused cannabis audiences across the US and Canada that are critical for growth: Short and long term cannabis investors Active funding sources Mainstream media Business leaders Cannabis consumers